## 2. Program Members and Organization in 2012 Fiscal Year

## 2.1. Program Members

Name	Affiliated Department, Position Title
	Specialized field
Representative	
Susumu Satomi	President of Tohoku University

Program Members	
Kunio Inoue	Research Center for Neutrino Science, Professor
(Program Leader)	Neutrino Physics
Ken-ichi Hikasa	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Particle physics
Yoshio Kuramoto	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Condensed Matter Physics
Yoshiro Hirayama	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Quantum Semiconductor Physics
Hirokazu Tamura	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Nuclear Physics
Masahiro Yamaguchi	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Particle Physics
Riichiro Saito	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Condensed Matter Physics
Hitoshi Yamamoto	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Particle Physics
Toshihiro Kawakatsu	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Condensed Matter Physics
Teruya Ishihara	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Solid State Photo Physics
Toshio Kobayashi	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Nuclear Physics
Hajime Shimizu	Research Center for Electron Photon Science, Professor
	Nuclear Physics
Yasuhiro Sakemi	Cyclotron and Radioisotope Center, Professor
	Nuclear Physics

Takashi Takahashi	WPI - Advanced Institute for Material Research, Professor
	Photoemission Solid-State Physics
Katsumi Tanigaki	WPI - Advanced Institute for Material Research, Professor
	Solid State Physics on Nano-Network Solids
Motoko Kotani	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Differential Geometry
Reiko Miyaoka	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Differential Geometry
Takashi Shioya	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Riemannian Geometry
Takayoshi Ogawa	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Partial Differential Equation
Kazuhiro Ishige	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Partial Differential Equation
Toshifumi Futamase	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Cosmology and General Relativity
Takashi Ichikawa	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Extragalactic Astronomy
Toru Yamada	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Extragalactic Astronomy
Makoto Hattori	Graduate School of Science, Associate Professor
	Observational Cosmology
Keiichi Noe	Graduate School of Arts and Letters, Professor
	Science Philosophy
Kiyotaka Naoe	Graduate School of Arts and Letters, Associate Professor
	Ethics of Science and Technology

## 2.2. Organization

Division of Roles	Name
	Program Members
Headquarters	Kunio Inoue (Leader)
	Yoshiro Hirayama
	Hirokazu Tamura
	Motoko Kotani
<b>Steering Committee</b>	Kunio Inoue (Chairperson)
	Hirokazu Tamura
	Masahiro Yamaguchi
	Yoshiro Hirayama
	Takayosi Ogawa
	Motoko Kotani
	Toshifumi Futamase
	Kiyotaka Naoe
Evaluation	Ken-ichi Hikasa (Chairperson)
	Yoshio Kuramoto
	Takashi Takahashi
<b>Extended Steering Committee</b>	Steering Committee and Evaluation
Administration	Takayoshi Ogawa (Chairperson)
	Toru Yamada
	Riichiro Saito
	Kiyotaka Naoe
Education	Hirokazu Tamura (Chairperson)
	Toshihiro Kawakatsu
	Masahiro Yamaguchi
	Ken-ichi Hikasa
	Teruya Ishihara
	Motoko Kotani
	Takayosi Ogawa
	Reiko Miyaoka
	Kazuyoshi Ishige
	Takashi Ichikawa
	Makoto Hattori
	Keiichi Noe

Kiyotaka Naoe
Yoshiro Hirayama (Chairperson)
Toshifumi Futamase
Takashi Shioya
Katsumi Tanigaki
Takashi Takahashi
Yasuhiro Sakemi
Hajime Shimizu
Hitoshi Yamamoto
Makoto Hattori
Masahiro Yamaguchi (Chairperson)
Hitoshi Yamamoto
Takayosi Ogawa
Toru Yamada
Takashi Ichikawa
Motoko Kotani (Chairperson)
Toshihiro Kawakatsu
Toshifumi Futamase
Keiichi Noe
Yoshiro Hirayama (Chairperson)
Hirokazu Tamura
Katsumi Tanigaki
Teruya Ishihara
Toshio Kobayashi

	Support Members
Science Support Division	Akira Yamaguchi (Chief)
	Natsu Suzuki
Business Support Office	Tamiko Miake(~July)/Junko Moori(~December)/
	Mari Honda (Physics)
	Saori Suto (Mathematics)
	Satomi Miyata (Astronomy)
	Mariko Nihei (Philosophy)

## 2.3. GCOE Assistant Professors

The GCOE adopted 12 GCOE assistant professors in 2012 fiscal year. Their names and research fields are as listed below.

GCOE Assistant Professor	Specialized field / Affiliated Department
Takeshi Koike	Nuclear Physics / Department of Physics
Mikito Tanaka	Astrophysics / Astronomical Institute
Shumpei Masuda	Condensed Matter Physics / Department of Physics
Tsuguhiko Asakawa	Particle Physics / Department of Physics
Satoshi Heguri	Condensed Matter Physics / Department of Physics
Joji Nasu	Condensed Matter Physics / Department of Physics
Daisuke Nitta	Astrophysics / Astronomical Institute
Daisuke Nomura	Particle Physics / Department of Physics
Naoto Yokoi	Particle Physics / Department of Physics
Toshiaki Omori	Mathematics / Mathematical Institute
Yuken Miyasaka	Mathematics / Mathematical Institute
Kazushige Nakagawa	Mathematics / Mathematical Institute