2. Program Members and Organization in 2011 Fiscal Year

2.1. Program Members

Name	Affiliated Department, Position Title
	Specialized field
Representative	
Akihisa Inoue	President of Tohoku University

Program Members	
Kunio Inoue	Research Center for Neutrino Science, Professor
(Program Leader)	Neutrino Physics
Ken-ichi Hikasa	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Particle physics
Osamu Hashimoto	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Nuclear Physics
Yoshio Kuramoto	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Condensed Matter Physics
Yoshiro Hirayama	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Quantum Semiconductor Physics
Hirokazu Tamura	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Nuclear Physics
Masahiro Yamaguchi	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Particle Physics
Riichiro Saito	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Condensed Matter Physics
Hitoshi Yamamoto	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Particle Physics
Toshihiro Kawakatsu	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Condensed Matter Physics
Teruya Ishihara	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Solid State Photo Physics
Toshio Kobayashi	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Nuclear Physics
Hajime Shimizu	Research Center for Electron Photon Science, Professor
	Nuclear Physics

Yasuhiro Sakemi	Cyclotron and Radioisotope Center, Professor
	Nuclear Physics
Kazuyoshi Yamada	WPI - Advanced Institute for Material Research, Professor
Tazay osm Tamaaa	Condensed Spin Matter Physics
Takashi Takahashi	WPI - Advanced Institute for Material Research, Professor
Takasiii Takanasiii	Photoemission Solid-State Physics
Kotami Tanigalzi	WPI - Advanced Institute for Material Research, Professor
Katsumi Tanigaki	Solid State Physics on Nano-Network Solids
Hideo Kozono	<u> </u>
nideo Kozono	Graduate School of Science, Professor
3.6 4.3 ×7.4 4	Mathematical Physics
Motoko Kotani	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Differential Geometry
Reiko Miyaoka	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Differential Geometry
Takashi Shioya	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Riemannian Geometry
Takayoshi Ogawa	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Partial Differential Equation
Kazuhiro Ishige	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Partial Differential Equation
Toshifumi Futamase	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Cosmology and General Relativity
Takashi Ichikawa	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Extragalactic Astronomy
Toru Yamada	Graduate School of Science, Professor
	Extragalactic Astronomy
Makoto Hattori	Graduate School of Science, Associate Professor
	Observational Cosmology
Keiichi Noe	Graduate School of Arts and Letters, Professor
	Science Philosophy
Kiyotaka Naoe	Graduate School of Arts and Letters, Associate Professor
-	

2.2. Organization

Division of Roles	Name
	Program Members
Headquarters	Kunio Inoue (Leader)
	Yoshiro Hirayama
	Hirokazu Tamura
	Hideo Kozono
Steering Committee	Kunio Inoue (Chairperson)
	Hirokazu Tamura
	Masahiro Yamaguchi
	Yoshiro Hirayama
	Hideo Kozono
	Motoko Kotani
	Toshifumi Futamase
	Kiyotaka Naoe
Evaluation	Osamu Hashimoto (Chairperson)
	Ken-ichi Hikasa
	Yoshio Kuramoto
	Takashi Takahashi
Extended Steering Committee	Steering Committee and Evaluation
Administration	Hideo Kozono (Chairperson)
	Toru Yamada
	Riichiro Saito
	Kiyotaka Naoe
Education	Hirokazu Tamura (Chairperson)
	Toshihiro Kawakatsu
	Masahiro Yamaguchi
	Ken-ichi Hikasa
	Teruya Ishihara
	Hideo Kozono
	Motoko Kotani
	Takayoshi Ogawa
	Reiko Miyaoka
	Kazuyoshi Ishige
	Takashi Ichikawa

	Makoto Hattori
	Keiichi Noe
	Kiyotaka Naoe
Research	Yoshiro Hirayama (Chairperson)
	Toshifumi Futamase
	Takashi Shioya
	Katsumi Tanigaki
	Takashi Takahashi
	Kazuyoshi Yamada
	Yasuhiro Sakemi
	Hajime Shimizu
	Hitoshi Yamamoto
	Makoto Hattori
International Exchange	Masahiro Yamaguchi (Chairperson)
	Hitoshi Yamamoto
	Hideo Kozono
	Toru Yamada
	Takashi Ichikawa
Information Disclosure	Motoko Kotani (Chairperson)
	Toshihiro Kawakatsu
	Toshifumi Futamase
	Keiichi Noe
Career pass	Yoshiro Hirayama (Chairperson)
	Hirokazu Tamura
	Katsumi Tanigaki
	Teruya Ishihara
	Toshio Kobayashi

Tohoku University GCOE program "Weaving Science Web beyond Particle-Matter Hierarchy"

	Support Members
Science Support Division	Akira Yamaguchi (Chief)
	Natsu Suzuki
Business Support Office	Tamiko Miake (Physics)
	Saori Suto (Mathematics)
	Satomi Miyata (Astronomy)
	Mariko Nihei (Philosophy)

2.3. GCOE Assistant Professors

The GCOE adopted 16 GCOE assistant professors in 2011 fiscal year. Their names and research fields are as listed below.

GCOE Assistant Professor	Specialized field / Affiliated Department
Takeshi Koike	Nuclear Physics / Department of Physics
Hidekatsu Nemura	Nuclear Physics / Department of Physics
Tatsuro Yuge	Condensed Matter Physics / Department of Physics
Yohei Matsuda	Nuclear Physics / Department of Physics
Mamoru Tanaka	Mathematics / Mathematical Institute
Mikito Tanaka	Astrophysics / Astronomical Institute
Shumpei Masuda	Condensed Matter Physics / Department of Physics
Dirk Puetzfeld	Astrophysics / Astronomical Institute
Tsuguhiko Asakawa	Particle Physics / Department of Physics
Yuichiro Kiyo	Particle Physics / Department of Physics
Satoshi Heguri	Condensed Matter Physics / Department of Physics
Joji Nasu	Condensed Matter Physics / Department of Physics
Takato Uehara	Mathematics / Mathematical Institute
Masakazu Yamamoto	Mathematics / Mathematical Institute
Daisuke Nitta	Astrophysics / Astronomical Institute
Takahiro Okabe	Mathematics / Mathematical Institute